Update From Rosie…

8 Apr

Hello everybody!

So I finally finished my next record at the end of January!  I recorded it with Dave Bazan and Blake Wescott in Seattle and we had such a great time putting every song together.  My brother played and sang on it and my fella Jeff Shoop too and a ton of other friends who contributed beautifully to the songs. It is the proudest record I have made thus far and I can’t wait to share it with you.

In the meantime, I have really been enjoying my time off.  Did stand up comedy again a couple of weeks ago and loved it, it sure has been awhile! I felt so brave! Flew to Kansas to visit my Grandpa Maynard on the farm and actually helped birth my first calf while I was there…it was incredible!  I was screaming, “it’s a boy! it’s a boy!” and I named him Sunny because he was born right at sunset.

Mr. Shoop and I may be planning a move to New York soon, my brother Brian is buying a sailboat to live on for the summer, I’m learning how to cook! I made a homemade risotto the other night..it was delicious and I was so proud! I can’t wait for the lilac trees to bloom again and I’m really looking forward to playing these living room shows at the end of the month too.

Life is fun. Hope yours has been too.

All my love,
Rosie T.

6 Responses to “Update From Rosie…”

  1. Fahad April 11, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    Hello Rosie,

    to say that I love your music is a huge understatement. I have all of your albums and EPs as your music has helped me overcome a lot of issues.

    Your voice breathes life into a song and it gets carried to a whole different dimension, something so beautiful, and ethereal.

    I was checking the website in hopes of finding some news about a future recrod, and I’m so happy to hear that you are indeed working on a new album that will hopefully see the sunlight soon.

    My favorite songs are:
    It Don’t Matter To The Sun, Guess It May, Death Came and Got Me, Guess It May, Let IT Be Me, Say What You Want, If This City Never Sleeps, Say Hello, and the beautiful I Run

    Please never stop making music.

    Sending you all the love all the way from Kuwait.

    -Fahad

  2. jamie April 19, 2010 at 1:39 am #

    What a glorious spring full of things to celebrate – a new album, the birth of Sunny and the bravery of improv! WTG!

    I’ll look forward to hearing more!

  3. Mark April 20, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    Hi Rosie:

    Totally and completely looking forward to the new album. Also, would really love to see you in California. Bummer that the shows were cancelled!

    Best,
    Mark

  4. Jen April 20, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Hi, Rosie,

    I am really excited about your new record. I hope your time off was refreshing, and I hope I get to see you live someday.

  5. Amy St.Clair May 25, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    Hey Rosie! Just wanted to drop a line (I know, that’s for a phone call but I’m foraging my own definition and using it in the context of words too! haha) and let you know how inspiring you are to me. I am a graphic designer in the Seattle area. (I also attend Mars Hill!) But when I listen to your music it always brings out such great imagery for me that I can incorporate into my work. You are blessed! Thanks for allowing God to use you to encourage and inspire others!
    Amy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chick Mix Links (04/08/2010) Colbie Caillat, Imogen Heap... | The Chick Mix - April 9, 2010

    […] Update From Rosie… via Rosie Thomas by rosiethomas on 4/8/10 […]

Leave a Reply

